Crisscross

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Yin to My Yang.”

How do you define the term “soulmate,” and do you believe in the existence of such a person — for you?

This is going to hurt. That’s my first thought when I read the prompt. I had a soulmate; perhaps I have one still, I don’t know. We climbed mountains together, and he always looked out for me. When I stared at the night sky and felt depression crash overhead, when I could only articulate “don’t you sometimes wonder if it’ll never end?”, he was there. He listened.

He never fails to answer my call, and he took me out for the ball. He has never touched me without waiting for me to initiate. I’ve never felt like anything less than a treasure in his eyes.

But the trouble is, it scares me. I wasn’t ready for it, and now I don’t want it. Despite everything, I don’t feel a spark between us, only a deep understanding. Is a spark really necessary for a relationship? I think it is. Is it necessary for a soulmate? No.

But is he still my soulmate? Can he be my friend without being my lover? And finally, is that too much to ask?

Hell. It would be good if we could just be the best of friends. It seems so petty, so transactional, after writing it. He did this for me, I should do that for him. Let me just end this way: love is a beautiful thing. But it has its ugly sides. Nuthin’ you never heard before.

Leave a Reply

